Thursday , 29 September 2016
Breaking News

Citizens Invited to Vote for ULI’s “People’s Choice” Award for Favorite Houston Real Estate Projects

Pennzoil Place

Pennzoil Place

HOUSTON – The Houston District Council of the Urban Land Institute (ULI) will recognize some of Houston’s groundbreaking real estate developments at the January 27 Development of Distinction Awards presented by Winstead Attorneys.

The public is invited to vote for their single favorite project among the finalists in the “People’s Choice” Award. The ULI awards recognize developments that exemplify best practices in design, construction, economic viability, community health, marketing and management in the Houston region. We encourage the public to review and vote for the project on this list that, in their opinion, best meets these criteria.

ULI established the People’s Choice award in 2013 and more than 7,000 votes have been cast in the competition. Voting closes on January 20, 2015. Vote today (  See the list of finalists below.

In the for-profit category

Braeburn Village, by Midway in partnership with AAI Affordable Houston

Hanover Rice Village, by The Hanover Company

Towne Lake Master Plan, by Caldwell Communities

In the not for-profit category

Bagby Street Reconstruction, by Midtown Redevelopment Authority

Bethel Church Park, by Houston Parks and Recreation Department

Monarch Institute Campus, by The Monarch School

New Hope Housing at Rittenhouse, by New Hope Housing, Inc.

In the heritage category

Pennzoil Place, Developed by Gerald D. Hines Interests (1975), Owned by Metropolis and Managed by Transwestern

San Jacinto College Lee Davis Library, by San Jacinto College


Although not included in the People’s Choice voting, 2015 Development of Distinction Honorable Mentions are: Lone Star College, CyFair Campus, by Lone Star College and  Sylvan Beach Pavilion, by Harris County Precinct Two, Jack Morman, Commissioner.

Awards will be given to project(s) in the for-profit and non-profit categories in addition to People’s Choice. A jury of three national real-estate experts toured all finalists’ projects in November, 2014.  The 2015 award jury is:

Clare De Briere, executive vice president, the Ratkovich Company in Los Angeles

John Desmond, executive vice president of urban planning & environment and executive director of the business improvement district, Downtown Denver

Anica Landreneau, global director of sustainable consulting for HOK in Washington D.C.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: