Saturday , 4 July 2020
Breaking News

ULI Houston Names Finalists for Development of Distinction Awards

Hanover's Rice Village has been named a finalist in ULI Houston competition.

Hanover’s Rice Village has been named a finalist in ULI Houston Development of Distinction Awards.

HOUSTON –The Houston District Council of the Urban Land Institute announced the finalists for their 2015 Development of Distinction Awards. The prestigious award recognizes developments that exemplify best practices in design, construction, economic viability, community health, marketing and management.

“The development of distinction awards is unique in that projects must be complete, from design, to management, to market success, to be considered” said Carleton Riser, ULI Houston chair and Transwestern Development Co.

ULI Houston chair Carleton Riser, president of Transwestern Development.

ULI Houston chair Carleton Riser, president of Transwestern Development.

president. “Ultimately, the winning projects must make a positive impact on their surroundings and the larger community, and our hope is that developers will learn from these projects and incorporate their best practices into their developments.”


In the for-profit category

Braeburn Village, by Midway in partnership with AAI Affordable Housing

Hanover Rice Village, by The Hanover Company

Towne Lake Master Plan, by Caldwell Communities

In the not for-profit category

Bagby Street Reconstruction, by Midtown Redevelopment Authority

Bethel Church Park, by Houston Parks and Recreation Department

Monarch Institute Campus, by The Monarch School

New Hope Housing at Rittenhouse, by New Hope Housing, Inc.

In the heritage category

 Pennzoil Place, Developed by Gerald D. Hines Interests (1975), Owned by Metropolis and Managed by Transwestern

San Jacinto College Lee Davis Library, by San Jacinto College

 Honorable mention

Lone Star College, CyFair Campus, by Lone Star College

Sylvan Beach Pavilion, by Harris County Precinct Two, Jack Mormann, Commissioner

The winners, to be announced in January, will be selected by award jurists from around the nation:

Clare De Briere, executive vice president, the Ratkovich Company in Los Angeles

John Desmond, executive vice president of urban planning & environment and executive director of the business improvement district, Downtown Denver.

Anica Landreneau, global director of sustainable consulting for HOK in Washington D.C.

Finalists were selected by a nomination panel of Houston real estate leaders that included David Hightower, executive vice president, chief development officer, Wolff Cos.; Lonnie Hoogeboom, director of planning, design & development, Downtown Management District; Char Lombardo, senior manager, facilities, BHP Billiton; Anna Mod, SWCA Environmental Consultants; Jane Page, CEO, Lionstone Investments; David Robinson, Houston City Council at Large #2;  Thomas Stroh, senior vice president, land development practice leader, Jones & Carter; and Preston Young, regional managing partner, Stream Realty Partners.


Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: